What the Hummus? – White Kidney bean dip. (But also Hummus).

It’s kind of like hummus, but it’s not hummus. And you could use this method and recipe to help you make hummus? Anyway, I didn’t want hummus this month! Because Cypressa sent me White Kidney Beans, not Chickpeas. And anyway, chickpeas would have been way too easy, because I came out the womb crushing chickpeas with my chubby thighs!

I know I don’t really blog too often these days, that’s because I’m getting myself ready to head off to Nicaragua to be a team leader with Raleigh International in a couple of weeks and I am busy busy with that. However, I am constantly making new dishes, trying new foods and experimenting. It’s just such a shame I am only one person who can’t possibly share every second of my life! Having said that, my doors (of social media) are always open and I love giving advice and sharing, so please comment, email, message – whatever you need to do if you have a burning question. I am vegan, but was also once not a vegan so I can really help out with so many different dietary requirements :).

So, the food. That’s why you’re here. Not for my life story.

Like I said, these guys at Cypressa have been sending me a product every month! And you know, as much as you might think you’re ready for whatever they are sending you, when the ingredient arrives in the post, all your plans and ideas go out the window, so here goes lots of mess in the kitchen, trying out something I’ve never done before. This time they sent me white Kidney beans, which I did a few things with, but the recipe here today is a cumin and paprika dip. It’s SUPER SIMPLE, and you can literally apply it to any dip. Also, to make hummus, sub the cumin and paprika for tahini, the beans for chickpeas,  and violla!  <<< HUMMUS ALERT! 

Soaking my kidney beans over night
Soaking my kidney beans over night

Ingredients

  • 250g soaked and cooked Cypressa white kidney beans
  • 1 clove of garlic
  • Juice of half a Lemon
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp cumin
  • 1/2 tsp paprika
  • 9 tbsp olive oil
  • 4 tbsp warm water

Method

Wait for it…

  1. Make sure you peel the garlic clove and have soaked the beans over night and boiled them for about 45 minutes. Then weigh out 250g. (I cooked about 250g dry beans and this left me with about 500g cooked beans, I’ll tell you what I did with the rest later)
  2. Put all of your ingredients into a food processor
  3. Blend all of your ingredients
  4. And that’s it! Scoop it out of the processor, clean everything etc. of course. It should last in the fridge for about a week. But mine only lasted a few days because it was a massive hit with these garlic-loving Greeks I live with.
White kidney bean dip
White kidney bean dip

BONUS RECIPE: With the remaining cooked White Kidney beans, I let them cool down and put them in a covered ceramic bowl in the fridge. The next day I made a salad with them. I heated the beans in some boiling water, when they were warm, I strained them and in a bowl combined them with lemon, salt, olive oil, 1/4 chopped white onion, fresh chopped parsley, chopped cucumber and chopped tomatoes. This is such a staple of mine and I love it, it’s something most Greek people will also be familiar with!

So that was really three recipes in one wasn’t it? lucky people.

Thank you again to Cypressa for challenging me with another Cypressa product of the month #CPOTM.

Live, Love, Create, Enjoy

Droulla ♥♥♥

Leave a Reply

