Yellow split-pea vegan Dal

Split pea Dal
Split pea Dal

Ingredients

  • 500g Cypressa yellow split peas 
  • 6 cups of boiled water (adjust as you cook, I probably added more than this)
  • Juice of half a fresh Lemon
  • salt, to taste or 3 teaspoons
  • 3 table spoons Coconut oil, to cook veg with (you want enough to almost created a sauce)
  • 2 teaspoons turmeric powder
  • 1 teaspoon ginger powder
  • 3 teaspoons cumin seeds (I love the flavour of Cumin!)
  • 5 garlic cloves, chopped
  • 7 cups of baby Spinach, washed
  • 3-4 birds eye Chillies (more if you like more spice, this will give you mild – moderate spice)
  • Generous bunch of fresh coriander, washed and chopped
  • 1 large white onion, sliced

Method

  1. Wash the peas and put them in a saucepan with the water and bring to the boil, then turn to a medium simmer, scraping any scum that comes to the top. You’ll leave this to simmer down for about 45 minutes, continue stirring and turn it off when most of the water has been absorbed and the peas are cooked enough to be create a soupy consistency but not too much that it’s too smooth, you want some texture. You might have to adjust the water. Keep the lid partially on to help cook and let out steam.
  2. While the peas are cooking you can prepare the veg
    • Peel and slice the onion
    • Wash and chop the coriander
    • Chop the garlic
    • Wash the spinach
  3. Combine the cumin seeds, turmeric and ginger powder. Add the chopped garlic to it and mix around to allow the powders to start releasing oils
  4. When the peas are very nearly at the consistency you want, turn the heat off, add the salt, stir and
  5. Put the lid on the cooked peas for 10-20 minutes (optional step) – will just let the peas soak up any additional water
  6. On a medium heat, in another pan, heat the coconut oil and add the onion once hot
  7. When the onion is translucent, add the garlic and dry herbs, a small sauce will begin to form in the bottom of the pan, which is what you want
  8. Add the chillies and let everything marinade
  9. Add the spinach and let it cook down
  10. When you have cooked the spinach, add the contents of the second pan to the cooked peas. Make sure all the sauce and oil is transferred to the peas as that is where the flavour is
  11. Stir in the fresh coriander, and save a little for the top to server
  12. Enjoy!
Yellow split peas from Cypressa
Yellow split peas from Cypressa

Usually, I chat away about why I’m writing this recipe etc, but today, I figured, maybe it would be better if I put the recipe straight at the start of the post. Why? because I was trying to find a recipe recently for a Vegan alternative on Christmas day and I got really bored having to sort through everyone’s waffle to get to what I actually needed to do to see if I liked the sound of what they were describing. So let me know how this works?

I had the pleasure of receiving Yellow split peas from Cypressa and actually, it’s my first time using these kind of peas and I thoroughly enjoyed the cooking of them and the eating!!! Also it was my first time using bird’s eye chillies, which my Godmother introduced me to, so all in all it was a really fun experiment. I made enough to take to my boyfriend’s house and have some left in the freezer for a rainy day.

I hope you will enjoy having this recipe in your library as much as I enjoyed making it!

Live, Love, Create, Enjoy

Droulla ♥♥♥

Leave a Reply

