DIY Chickpea flour + pancakes!

So when I was first diagnosed with PCOS and Insulin resistance, which is a common side effect of women suffering with the syndrome (blood tests now show I am no longer insulin resistant! 3 years and still going strong, yay!) I really thought I would have to cut down on my consumption of pancakes (MASSIVE sad face). Luckily, I was completely and utterly wrong. As with most dietary-related issues or medical conditions which are made worse by certain foods and lifestyles, most health professionals will often advise you (I am not a trained dietitian, FYI) to cut down on sugary foods and drinks, keep an eye on your weight and make sure you add as many fruits and vegetables into your diet as possible!

Many women suffering with PCOS are resistant to the effects of insulin, and one piece of advice I have been given and really think worked is just to watch the blood sugar spikes certain foods produce in the body. The best way to monitor this is to be aware of the Glycemic Index  (GI) of the foods you are eating (you can open the link where you can also download an official database). Foods with a higher GI will increase a spike in blood sugar levels, causing more insulin to be produced (more than needed because you are resistant to its effects, which can lead to acne, excess hair, irregular periods and of course weight gain among other problems). Therefore it is advised to mix up the GI combination of your meal, or try to limit foods with a higher GI to keep your increased insulin levels at bay. More information can be found at http://www.pcos-uk.org.uk/ and https://www.bda.uk.com/foodfacts/pcos.pdf.

Anyway… moving on to my recipe. Chickpeas (GI of 28 per 100g) have a far lower GI than plain white flour (GI of 77.7 per 100g, ouch!), and although I do make ‘regular pancakes’, here is something you might want to try if you’re trying to keep those blood sugars low. Suffering from PCOS, you can almost begin to follow a diabetic diet, but of course do not restrict yourself to the point of ruining the joy food can bring you.

When Cypressa sent me Chickpeas for August product of the month, I was going to do a nice summery salad. However, one day I woke up and decided, no, I want pancakes, so why not use my chickpeas and make chickpea flour!

Dry Chickpeas
Dry Chickpeas

Ingredients

  • 1 cup dried chickpeas, ground in a food processor and then sieved
  • 3/4 cup almond milk (I did use a sweetened one this time, as I had bought it by accident)
  • 2 eggs
  • Coconut oil for cooking
  • Honey / Jam / Peanut butter/ maple syrup / fruit / cheese for dressing. Basically, what ever you fancy, in moderation

Method

  1. Put the dry chickpeas in to the food processor (I used my smoothie blender, which was a massive mistake because it took forever, so please use a food processor if you have one) and mill until fine
  2. Sieve the milled chickpeas
  3. In a bowl, combine sieved chickpeas, eggs and almond milk and whisk until a smooth batter
  4. Heat coconut oil in a frying pan on a medium-high heat. Once hot, add a ladle of your pancake batter and turn to a medium heat
  5. Once the batter begins to solidify (about two minutes) turn the pancake over. Flip the pancakes every minute or so to achieve your desired brown-ness
  6. Dress and Enjoy! You’re welcome
Chickpea Pancakes
It took forever. Please use a food processor! Although this a good (slow) alternative
Chickpea flour pancakes
Chickpea flour pancakes

What I loved about these is that had a naturally nutty flavour from both the chickpeas and almonds! Just right for me. I ate mine with honey because I just can’t get enough!!

I hope you enjoyed and share this recipe with your family and friends

Live, Love, Create, Enjoy

Droulla ♥♥♥

 

Leave a Reply

