Appetizing Artichoke, Avocado salad

I got another awesome surprise through the post from Cypressa  this month to celebrate their product of the month of April, which is Marinated artichoke hearts. I really had to think about what to do with these, because at the moment I am fasting for the Greek orthodox easter and instinctively, I might wrap these in some parma ham and serve with halloumi and olives. Of course, I couldn’t do that because I must try everything I eat – no questions about it.

Artichoke salad
Look at all that marinade!

One day I was making an avocado and chickpea salad with rocket and spinach to have for lunch the next day at work and I got the artichokes out, had a taste of them and knew they would go so well in this salad of mine! You can always serve this salad as a side or stuff it in to some pitta bread pockets. Because these artichokes were already marinated there was less of a need to use much seasoning or oil to dress the salad too and that kept my salad moist and tasty for the next day’s lunch.

Ingredients

  • 140g marinated artichoke hearts, roughly chopped (half the jar)
  • Half a ripe avocado, roughly chopped
  • 2 haldfuls of fresh Rocket, washed and chopped
  • A handful of fresh Spinach, washed and chopped
  • 250g tinned chickpeas, washed and drained
  • Half a fresh Tomato, washed and chopped
  • A handful of cucumber, washed and chopped
  • a Handful of fresh parsley, washed and chopped
  • 3 tablespoons of sunflower seeds
  • Juice of half a lemon
  • 1 tbsp olive oil
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp pepper
  • 1tsp dried mint (this is actually a really important ingredient!!)

Method

  1. Prepare all ingredients
  2. Mix all together well with seasoning in a bowl
  3. Serve
  4. Enjoy in any way you like!

I really just want things to be simple in life. No extravagant strategy or technique. Although one day I would sure love to learn them. For the moment, especially while I am fasting, I need to just get my nutrition right and make sure I’m not missing out because being a vegan is ‘too complicated’ It definitely isn’t and I feel amazing since I’ve been fasting. It isn’t just all salads, too! There is a lentil soup I need to post, a cauliflower potato curry (curry is a vegan’s best friend, I SWEAR!) and my Veggie Spagbowl. The world has endless possibilities and it was fully equipped with everything we need to survive. So eating food that just comes from the ground, makes perfect sense to me.

Artichoke salad
Artichokes

I think I find this easier as I am such a curious eater anyway. Happy experimentation guys! Feel free to share, comment and ask me questions!

Live, Love, Create, Enjoy

Droulla ♥♥

Leave a Reply

