Muffins.. with Sweet Potato

I took this recipe inspiration from Jamie Oliver – I liked the idea of what he had done but didn’t have / didn’t want to use some of his ingredient choices so here is my spin on it! As you can see from a previous post of mine on some other muffins I am a massive fan of eating well conveniently so obviously as soon as I saw this on Jamie Oliver’s everyday superfood TV show I got straight to work with what I had at home!

I have these great silicone muffin cases and nothing sticks to them!
I have these great silicone muffin cases and nothing sticks to them!

I made a massive batch (this recipe will serve 12-15 muffins) and took some to my boyfriends house and the next day they were absolutely devoured by everyone as they had to quickly dash off to work. So, tried and tested, these are delicious and suitable to a wide range of taste buds and dietary requirements! And they are naturally free of nasties and gluten for those who have an allergy or intolerance.

Simple ingredients list
My ingredients

Ingredients

  • 2 sweet potatoes, peeled and grated
  • 3 heaped tbsp coconut flour
  • 1 heaped tbsp ground flax seeds
  • 300g cottage cheese
  • 6 eggs, cracked and whisked
  • 1 red chilli
  • 1 tsp salt

 

It is a very simple method of Mix, and Cook. My favourite style of simple, healthy cooking!

sweet potato muffins
All ingredients in the bowl and mix!! You can even do this in a food processor!

Method

  1. Preheat the oven to 180°C/350°F
  2. Mix all ingredients in a large bowl together
  3. Fill muffin cases with the mixture
  4. Cook in the oven for 45 minutes
  5. Leave to cool
  6. Eat
Sweet potato muffins
Waiting patiently for them to come out the oven

These are brilliant breakfast alternatives or snacks on the go! The best part is that they tasted like some sort of cheese and onion pasty! Honestly, you would have never known how healthy they were had you blind tasted one! And of course, they were very filling!

sweet potato muffin
Get up close and personal with a muffin

I’ve added a poll to this post and I would love it if you answered it, honestly!

Thanks for reading! I’d love to hear how you get on with these if you decide to make them and any changes you make 🙂

Live, Love, Create, Enjoy

Droulla ♥♥

Leave a Reply

