Sweet potato Chicken and veg stew

I know it’s only November, but I’ve been feeling all a little bit festive. All these pumpkin, butternut squash, sweet potato recipes have got me into hot, comforting food mode and I love it! I love comfort food, give me a warm bowl of root veg and something orange and I’m pretty much yours!
So on the note of feeling festive and wanting something warm to fill my belly I literally threw some ingredients together, put it in an oven dish and made a spontaneous stew which lasted a few days and I’m so glad! Luckily for you guys, Droulla whipped out her camera at the same time and noted down the ingredients šŸ™‚

20151008_171950
The rough raw ingredients

IngredientsĀ 

Serves approx 6. I was eating this for Ā a couple of days and even had some left over for visitors

  • 2 chicken breasts – washed (with salt and lemon) and Diced up. (I had pre seasonsed these in paprika, chilli powder and garlic salt before knowing what I was going to do with them)
  • 3 bell peppers (1 yellow, 1 red, 1 green) – washed and roughly chopped
  • 1 or 2 sweet potato(es) depending on sizeĀ – peeled and chopped into chunks/discs
  • 1 red onion – peeled and roughly chopped
  • A handful of mushrooms – Ā peeled and roughly chopped
  • 2 cloves of garlic – peeled, crushed and diced
  • 1 Chilli – roughly chopped
  • 1 teaspoon of ground coriander
  • 1 teaspoon of cumin seeds
  • 1 teaspoon of ground black pepper
  • A handful of green beans – washed and chopped in half

 

  • For serving: A handful of Fresh Spinach and choppedĀ Coriander in a bowl (put the stew on top, I promise – it’s going to be great!)
20151008_171933
Just throw it all in

Method

  1. Preheat the oven to 180Ā°C
  2. Prepare all ingredients as in the ingredients list
  3. Throw all ingredients into a casserole dish (minus the spinach and fresh coriander for serving)
  4. Boil the kettle and pour enough hot water to fill 3/4 of the casserole dish (everything will combine and make a lovely broth!)
  5. Cover the dish with a lid or tin foil
  6. Cook for 35-40 minutes
  7. Put the fresh spinach and chopped coriander in a bowl and pour a serving of the stew over the fresh leaves
  8. Serve
  9. Enjoy and add extra salt / pepper if required
20151008_172341
Before
20151008_190801
After

This is a great recipe I think and the ingredients don’t have to be precisely what I’ve listed here! This isn’t a recipe I planned – I had some marinated chicken and didn’t know what to do with it, so I threw everything in together and made a casserole dish!

These are the kinds of meals I LOVE! They’re healthy, require minimal effort and are an absolute crowd-pleaser! What’s even better is take out the chicken and you’ve also got a Vegetarian or even Vegan meal!

This recipe absolutely hits the nail on the head of what Droulla believes in and the message this blog is trying to convey! Healthy food does not need to be complicated and tasty food does not need to be bad for you… or expensive for that matter! Each serving of this would probably (including the energy usage) have cost me around Ā£1.50 each (even less if there wasn’t any chicken). Now, Ā£1.50 compared to Ā£7 in London for a handful of leaves and a sugary, processed salad dressing is EXACTLY what I’m talking about. And people wonder why I make my own lunch. The maths is simple enough :).

Thanks Again people, stay blessed!

Live, Love, Create, Enjoy

Droulla

Leave a Reply

