The perfect boiled egg

Yes, more eggs.

Eggs are a really important part of many peoples diets. It contains so many nutrients that it can create an entire baby chicken! Yes, that many!! I do feel like they have been receiving a little bit of bad press recently though, so I thought I would do a little bit of research on behalf of my beloved Droulla Army!! (Aren’t I cute?)

So while a medium sized egg may contain about 60% of your recommended daily intake of cholesterol, this isn’t necessarily a bad thing because, if you didn’t consume the cholesterol your body requires, your liver would produce it anyway. There are two types of cholesterol HDL (good) and LDL (bad), and guess what, eggs increase mainly the level of HDLs in our bodies.

Cholesterol forms part of the cell membranes in your body… so whether you eat it or not, you need it. So why not eat something delicious whilst getting your required intake of a useful ingredient?


Lots of people struggle with the perfect boiled egg, and I get mine right 9/10 times, so I think I’ve pretty much got it nailed! My Grandma hates this, because it’s the one thing I can definitely do better than her.

I like my eggs runny/dippy! But this will be a 3in1: Runny, Semi-soft and hard – Bargain!


Rule number one

ALWAYS. Always, start with cold water. I don’t pre-boil my water, some people do but for me when I’ve tried it this my method and timings just haven’t worked. In the back of my head this is because when you boil the water first, it’s way ahead of the egg and the egg isn’t really cooking when the water starts bubbling. So in theory (Droulla theory) let the water start cold so that it’s heating up at the same pace of the egg 🙂


If you like your eggs Runny

  1. Place the egg in cold water, but the gas / electric hob on a medium heat
  2. Wait
  3. When the water starts to ‘bubble’ (not the little bubbles – the big ones that pop at the surface) time two minutes
  4. If it’s a large egg, turn the heat off and leave it in the hot water for an extra 30 seconds
  5. Rinse the egg under cold water A) so you can touch the egg to peel it and B) so the egg can STOP cooking!
  6. Peel your egg (usually the top half if you’re going to have it with something to dip in)
Serving suggestion. Big Saturday breakfast. I always sprinkle my egg with a bit of himalaya salt
Serving suggestion. Big Saturday breakfast. I always sprinkle my egg with a bit of himalaya salt

If you like your eggs Semi-soft 

(They’re still dippy but you can’t slurrrrrrp them)

  1. Place the egg in cold water, put the gas / electric hob on a medium heat
  2. Wait
  3. When the water starts to ‘bubble’ (not the little bubbles – the big ones that pop at the surface) time three minutes
  4. If the egg is large, turn the heat off and leave it in the hot water for an extra 30 seconds
  5. Rinse the egg under cold water A) so you can touch the egg to peel it and B) so the egg can STOP cooking!
  6. Peel your egg and serve

This kind of egg I live to serve on a rice cake on top of some crushed avocado / Spinach (sorry I don’t have a photo 😦 )


If you can’t stand any juicyness in the yolk

(Like my sister)

My sister can not stand any sort of runny yoke in her egg, so here’s what I do for her:

  1. Place the egg in cold water, put the gas / electric hob on a medium heat
  2. Wait
  3. When the water starts to ‘bubble’ (not the little bubbles – the big ones that pop at the surface) time 8 minutes
  4. If the egg is Large leave for an extra minute on the heat
  5. TOP TIP: To peel a hard boiled egg, roll it on the kitchen work surface applying pressure and allow it to crack all around and then it will peel so easy like a Sunday morning 😉

There you have it, Perfect boiled eggs, tried and tested by me and my family 🙂

Live, Love, Create, Enjoy

Droulla

Leave a Reply

