Chicken and Leek homemade burgers

So I recently had an ayurvedic assessment done by a friend of a friend who is studying the principles of ayurvedic therapy. There is tonnes of information online about it if you want to read up about it! But, the underlying principle is that people are made up of the three main elements, water, fire and air! What an ayuervedic assessment does is assess your lifestyle patterns, your body and any ailments you experience or have experienced in life. The assessment then determines whether you are in or out of balance.Capture

In my assessment, it was revealed that my Pitta (fire) is out of balance. A person who’s pitta is out of balance may be irritable and suffer digestive issues or inflammatory conditions. There it is! It makes so much sense, woah.

After my assessment, I was given a list of foods to favour and foods to avoid. On the list of foods to avoid were onions, tomatoes, cinammon… the list is just too painful to even go on!

So, I’m giving it my best shot! Aubergines and leeks were on the list of foods to favour, so that’s where this recipe came in to play! Enjoy 🙂


auberginebun
Tomato was added optionally for my Grandfather 🙂

Ingredients 

  • 500g Chicken Mince
  • Two Leeks, diced
  • A bunch of fresh parsley, chopped
  • A tablespoon of dried mint
  • One grated Courgette
  • One Aubergine, sliced into Medallions
  • Salt and Pepper to taste

I recommend making a small one, tasting and adjusting the ingredients to your taste, I needed more salt than I initially put. I guess this is because Chicken isn’t as salty as other meats you might make meatballs/burgers with!

Method

DSC_0006 (2)

  1. Take the aubergine medallions and sprinkle them with salt
  2. Apart from the Aubergine medallions, Mix all other ingredients in a large bowl together
  3. Pre-heat the oven to 180°C
  4. Roll into the shape you want to cook them in. (I left my mixture over night a) to marinade and b) to make it more sticky so that i wouldn’t need a binding agent!)
  5. Place the burgers on grease proof paper and cook in the oven for 25 minutes, turning after 10 minutes
  6. While the Burgers are cooking you can also introduce the Aubergines to the oven for 20 minutes (10 minutes on each side) or, if you have a griddle pan, cook them on the hob – they won’t need any oil, just 5-6 minutes on each side on a medium heat

You can now add anything you like to your burgers, tomatoes, lettuce, cheese, pickle – what ever you like to serve your burgers with go for it!


burgger

TopTip: Sometimes I don’t have time to be in the kitchen for so long making these meals so I prepare ahead of time a lot! The above recipe will yield about 20 small burgers, so I froze quite a lot of mine. Take a tray / board and line it with grease proof paper and line up your burgers, cover with cling film and freeze. Once they are frozen you can take them off the tray and store them in a freezer bag!

Remember you can connect with me on twitter, facebook, instagram and via email.

Live, Love, Create Enjoy!

Droulla

Leave a Reply

