Droulla’s Guacamole!

g2

I love avocados, I love mexican food, I love tomatoes and I love fresh dips that I can make myself ensuring the #NoNasties policy has been upheld. Put this all together and you get… Guacamole!

This is a favourite that has been tried and tested among the masses, my mum, my sisters, my grand parents, aunties, friends, chilean dad (it’s a long story) – everyone! Even one of my best friends who swears that she hates avocados now makes it herself at every little get together she goes to / hosts… she’s a convert all because of this delicious recipe… *smirks*

This recipe is inspired by my love for a ‘little bit of salt, lemon and olive oil’ over anything that is fresh and my year spent living in Chile. There were avocados everywhere, and there was a huge culture of sitting around late at night, with a few bites to eat, some dips and a few drinks, so this guacamole really became the best social accompaniment.

The quantities of ingredients are really rough, it’s a ‘throw it all together and nom’ type of recipe


Ingredients

  • One ripe Avocado
  • One tomato, Chopped
  • A handful of fresh Coriander, Chopped
  • A clove of garlic, grated
  • Salt, to taste
  • Juice of half a lemon
  • A drizzle of Olive oil
  • 1/2 Chilli, sliced / Chilli flakes (Optional, to taste)

You probably have all of those ingredients in the house anyway, so off you go.. to the next bit


Ā Method

  1. Slice the Avocado in half and remove the stone, then scoop out the flesh from both halves into a bowl
  2. With a fork, begin to mash the avocado
  3. Add the lemon and olive oil and continue mashing – the extra liquid will help
  4. Add the Garlic, salt, coriander and tomatoes (and Chilli / Chilli flakes)
  5. Mix all ingredients together
  6. Enjoy!

That was so simple, I feel like I haven’t written anything! I enjoy this with my cauliflower base pizza and as a side next to almost anything, especially boiled eggs and rice cakes.(I smother the rice cakes in guacamole then slice/smash a semi-runny egg on top (half an egg per rice cake), sprinkle with a bit of salt and enjoy)

This recipe is absolutely incredible because it’s:

  • Fresh
  • Gluten Free
  • Vegan
  • Vegetarian
  • #NoNasties
  • Healthy
  • Rich in Nutriends
  • 2 of your 5 a day
  • Dairy Free
Yum
Yum

Without having to really ‘rack your brain’, you can make something delicious to spice up any meal. As you can see, Chilli flakes are optional, and I tell you what, if you fancy an extra crunch, chop up some onions too and really get the mexican flavours going!

I hope you enjoyed reading this recipe! Feel free to comment and share!

Live, Love, Create, Enjoy

Droulla

2 thoughts on “Droulla’s Guacamole!

Leave a Reply

