Chocolate FUDGE CAKE! (Gluten free AND VEGAN???)

Yep, the title is correct, I am honestly still stunned as I write this post, this chocolate fudge cake was so so delicious, I used syrup instead of sugar, flax seeds instead of eggs and black beans instead of flour. This should come with a bit of a warning – you know, beans beans are good for your heart? Just sayin’ don’t eat the whole lot if you’ve got a date lined up, a slice will do you fine, but truth be told it’s so moreish, you’ll put up with the beany consequences anyway!

This recipe was inspired by a magazine article I ripped out of the Evening Standard Magazine. It’s a Recipe Edited by Lotte Jeffs and created by Rachel Khoo.. I pretty much followed the baseline recipe and then made a couple of minor changes along the way as I adapted the recipe to the way I like to bake!

It’s also worth mentioning you need a blender / food processor for this one!

As you can see, I was really skeptical that this was possible
As you can see, I was really skeptical that this was possible

I’ll Start with the Main cake, then get on to the Icing. You’re not gonna believe what it’s made out of, honestly!

Ingredients

  • 240g cooked black beans (400g can, drained)
  • 100g pitted dates (I used two handfuls)
  • 175ml Vegetable oil ( Or Coconut oil. I used Rapeseed Oil, DO NOT use Olive oil, it can not withstand the heat required to cook the cake, in cooking in high temperatures, Olive oil releases toxins)
  • 80g ground flaxseeds (You can grind them yourself of get your hands on some organic-ready groung flax, like you can see in the photo)
  • 80g Cocoa Powder (yummy)
  • 2tbsp Baking Powder
  • 2tsp Bicarbonate of soda (I did not use this, I don’t think it’s necessary, but feel free)
  • 150g Maple syrup/Carob syrup
Looks Deeee-licious, doesn't it?
Looks Deeee-licious, doesn’t it?

Here’s the fun part. I love how I literally got to just throw everything together:

  1. Preheat the oven to 180°C
  2. Blend the Beans, dates and oil together to make a smooth paste (Ideally in a food processor) Note: You won’t get a super smooth texture like you will with flour of course, but it’ll be pretty smooth!
  3. Add all other ingredients and blend until you have a heavenly tasting mixture. (Honestly, try it, it’s so delicious, and by trying it you can decide if you fancy adding anything else)
  4. Pour into a cake tin lined with baking/parchment paper. Smooth the top with a spatula.
  5. Bake for 30 minutes. The original recipe I followed said 45 minutes, but tried and tested, this is TOO LONG! To check if it is cooked, stick a knife in the middle of the cake and if it comes out clean then it’s done.

Now your kitchen is smelling deliciously chocolatey, leave the cake itself to cool while you prepare the icing. I still can’t get over what it’s made out of! You might want to clean your food processor first to avoid having bean skin in the icing ;).

DSC_0042
This nearly didn’t make it to the oven. I Kept ‘testing’ it, you know, to make sure it was ok.

Ingredients

  • Two very ripe avocados
  • 4 tablespoons of cocoa powder (This will make it quite rich, add the cocoa powder gradually and taste if
  • 4 tablespoons of Carob syrup, Maple syrup or honey ( you can use either or, I used all three. I tried a few variations and this is what I preferred)

Method

  1. Blend the ingredients together
  2. Smooth the icing over the cake and viola!
Snapchat--6390180362948686452
Smooth, smooth icing

The cake should last for a few days in the fridge (mine didn’t last that long, but there’s hope for the rest of you!). The reason i decided to make this cake is because my step brother is a vegan and he wondered if I knew how to make any dairy free desserts so I was really eager to try this recipe and see how he liked it! He really thought it tasted good which made my day! I’ve also recently tried cutting out dairy from my diet to reduce inflammation in my skin and sinuses and it actually seems to be working very well, so this cake was a warm welcome to a chocolate loves who hasn’t eaten chocolate in way too long!

Even if you aren’t restricted to a gluten-free or vegan diet, I really would recommend trying this one. It’s made out of naturally existing products and is great to see how you can take ingredients you wouldn’t normally use together and make something delicious from them!

IMG-20150612-WA0000
This was taken about 30 minutes after I had finished baking the cake. Rapid demolition.

Live, Love, Create, Enjoy.

Droulla

3 thoughts on “Chocolate FUDGE CAKE! (Gluten free AND VEGAN???)

Leave a Reply

